Hearsay

The Rule Against Hearsay is a sometimes confusing issue in criminal trials and preliminary hearings in Bucks County.  Hearsay is an out of court statement that is offered in court as evidence to prove the truth of the matter asserted.  Hearsay can be oral or written.  Hearsay can be gestures.  Hearsay statements fundamentally cannot be cross-examined by a Bucks County criminal lawyer nor are they subject to being made under oath.  Thus, there is a general acceptance of untrustworthiness and not reliable.  Moreover, the Confrontation Clause is not possible in hearsay.  

An exception to the hearsay rule is that the statement is not being admitted to prove the truth of the matter asserted.  Instead, it is only being stated to prove that the statement was made.  For example, if I am alleged to have a mental instability and a person states that I told them, "He yelled out 'I'm the Pope'".  This statement is not to prove that I am the Pope, but rather that I made such a statement.